2024 AMA UK AWARDS Nominations and Winners

Nominations – winners in bold

UK Album of the Year

Far From Saints – Far From Saints
Michele Stodart – Invitation, presented by Helen Thomas (Head of Station for BBC Radio 2)
Roseanne Reid – Lawside
Ward Thomas – Music In The Madness

International Album of the Year

Allison Russell – The Returner, presented by Nina Nesbitt
Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors – Strangers No More
Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit – Weathervanes
Margo Cilker – Valley of Heart’s Delight

UK Song of the Year

Hannah White – “Chains of Ours”
Kirsten Adamson – “My Father’s Songs”
Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys – “High Time”, presented by Drew Holcomb
St Catherine’s Child – “Every Generation”

International Song of the Year

Chris Stapleton – “White Horse”
Maren Morris – “The Tree”
Margo Price feat. Sharon van Etten– “Radio”, presented by Frank Turner
Noah Kahan – “Stick Season”

UK Artist of the Year

Cardinal Black
Elles Bailey
Hannah White
Michele Stodart, presented by Charlie Starr (Blackberry Smoke)

International Artist of the Year

Allison Russell, presented by Simeon Hammond Dallas & Andy Facer (Andy from 5F marketing representing Sweet Home Alabama)
Jason Isbell
Lucinda Williams
War & Treaty

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Holly Carter, presented by Jason Isbell
Joe Coombs
Joe Harvey White
Keiron Marshall

UK Live Act of the Year

Elles Bailey, presented by Immy Doman and Risa Tabatznik (The Green Note)
Far From Saints
Ferris & Sylvester
Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls
Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys
The Hanging Stars


Special Awards:

International Lifetime Achievement Award

Selected by the board members, our highest honour is awarded to an international artist, duo or group in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the Americana genre over the span of their career and life in music. The 2024 recipient will be Dan Penn, introduced by a video of congratulations messages from friends and fellow musicians

International Trailblazer Award

Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates an international artist, duo or group that has taken an exceptional path, inspiring others to follow in their footsteps in developing the Americana genre. The 2024 recipient will be Jason Isbell, presented by Nick Hornby

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award

Selected by Bob Harris OBE, this special award celebrates the breakthrough artist, duo or group that has particularly impressed the legendary music broadcaster throughout the year. The 2024 recipient will be Jonny Morgan, presented by Bob Harris OBE

Grass Roots Award

Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates the sometimes-unsung heroes of the UK Americana scene. It is presented to individuals working in the industry (in a capacity other than as artists) who have made outstanding efforts to support Americana music from the grass roots up. The 2024 recipient will be Stevie Smith, presented by Billy Bragg

Best-Selling Americana Album by a UK artist, presented in conjunction with The Official Charts Company (OCC)

Winner: Billy Bragg, presented by Martin Talbot (OCC) and Andy Facer (5F marketing representing Sweet Home Alabama)


The International Lifetime Achievement Award was given to legendary American singer-songwriter, musician and producer Dan Penn, preceded by touching video messages of congratulation from Elvis Costello and Mike Scott of the Waterboys. A medley of Penn’s hits was performed by Elles Bailey, Margo Cilker, St Catherine’s Child, Lauren Housley, Simeon Hammond Dallas, Hannah White, Johnny Morgan; Demi Marriner alongside the houseband.

Posted in Uncategorized